Odisha, Sikkim, Mizoram Join ‘One Nation-One Ration Card’ Scheme: Ram Vilas Paswan

Food Minister Ram Vilas Paswan that three other states have joined the ‘One Nation- One Ration Card’ scheme. The total number of states and Union territories that have joined the program reached 20. Recently, Sikkim, Mizoram, and Odisha have joined the ‘One Nation- One Ration Card’ scheme. Further, Manipur, Uttarakhand, and Nagaland are expected to join the cluster of the states under this scheme by August.

Ram Vila Paswan
Source: Financial Express

The ‘One Nation- One Ration Card’ scheme facilitates the people to avail of the foodgrains from the Fair Price Shops from all over the country by using the same ration card. However, the people eligible under this scheme will be able to avail of the benefits under this scheme. People will be able to get the foodgrains from Fair Price Shops under the National Food Security Act (NFSA).

Implementation Of The Scheme

Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food, and Public Distribution are aiming to implement the scheme by March 2021. Also, the Ministry has completed the necessary infrastructure work in these three states. The essential infrastructure work includes up-gradation of  EPoS software, integration with central IM-PDS, and Annavitran portals. Also, the Ministry has enabled the Ration card portability in 17 States and Union territories.

One Nation- One Ration Card
Source: Informal Newz

These 17 States and Union territories include Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, and Daman & Diu, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Punjab, Telangana, Tripura, and Uttar Pradesh. The Food Ministry is taking all the possible steps to include the remaining 13 States and Union Territories in the cluster.

A central technician team is providing training to the officers of different states for the better implementation of the scheme. Also, the training is provided through the video-conferencing. Only those ration cards will be a part of this scheme, in which at least one of the Aadhar Card is authenticated in the last six months. Only these people will be eligible under this scheme.

The States and UTs forming part of the scheme should start national/inter-state portability transactions, asked Ram Vilas Paswan. The States and UTs should start national/inter-state portability transactions in June 2020, he added. Further, this will help the beneficiaries of the scheme to avail the benefits of portability transfer with immediate effect.

Leave a Comment